INNER CITY DISTRICT ADVISORY COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 2-2019

To the Chair and Members Winnipeg Public School Board:

November 5, 2019

The Inner City District Advisory Committee reports as follows:

1. Election of Committee Chair

The Committee was informed that at a Board meeting, Trustee Yijie (Jennifer) Chen was appointed as the Board's representative and Trustee Betty Edel was appointed as the Board's alternate representative to this Committee.

The parent representative from Mulvey School and the parent representative from William Whyte School volunteered to Chair the meeting.

2. WSD 2020/2021 Budget Consultation

The Committee received an overview on the Budget Consultation for the 2020/2021 school year.

The Committee was informed that the Board is committed to obtaining feedback from school communities, parent councils, residents and staff groups for the 2020/2021 budget. The District Advisory meetings will provide parent representatives with an opportunity to share feedback, ideas and questions with the trustees in their local area.

The Committee was informed that it is anticipated that the Provincial funding announcement will be made in late January/early February. Once the announcement is received, the Finance/Personnel Committee of the Board will prepare final recommendations for approval by the Board of Trustees. Budget information will be distributed to all schools, parent councils, student councils, advisory committees, employee groups and others on request, and posted on Division's website.

The Committee was informed that District Advisory Committee meetings will be scheduled in February to provide an opportunity for dialogue and discussion about the draft budget. A Public Meeting regarding the draft budget will be held on February 24, 2020. The deadline to receive feedback regarding the budget will be received by the Board until March 2, 2020. All feedback will be considered by Finance/ Personnel Committee. The Board of Trustees will approve the budget at its meeting to be held March 9, 2020. The Board must finalize the budget by March 13, 2020, as required by legislation.

The Committee was informed that the two major sources of funding are the Province of Manitoba and the property tax levy. In the most recent budget, provincial funding provided only 58.3% of the total revenue required to balance the WSD budget. The second major source of funding is from property taxation which provided an additional 38.5% of the total revenue. The remaining three percent is revenue from other sources such as the federal government, First Nations authorities and other school divisions who use WSD resources.

The Committee was informed that provincial funding limits the opportunities to assist school divisions in removing the many barriers to education. This may impact student outcomes and key building blocks that are necessary to contribute to their growth and success in school. The Committee was also informed that Provincial funding continues to lag behind the needs of the students, families, staff and communities of the Division, resulting in an increased burden on division residents through property taxation.

In response to an enquiry regarding the Provincial Inclusive Education Block Funding, the Committee was informed that the Board passed a motion to consult with staff who are involved with inclusive students to discuss the current structure of the funding formula. A report will be provided to the Board of Trustees to determine if additional funding can be directed to help close the gap in school needs and support all student learning.

3. Manitoba Association of Parent Councils (MAPC)

Trustee Reid informed the Committee that she is also the Acting Vice-President of the Manitoba Association of Parent Council (MAPC). Trustee Reid provided an overview on the role and services provided by MAPC. Trustee Reid encouraged the Committee to contact the Board and Community Services Office to become a member of the Manitoba Association of Parent Councils for the 2019/2020 school year.

4. 2019/2020 District Advisory Committee Dates

The Committee was informed of the following schedule of the District Advisory Committees for the 2019/2020 school year:

<u>Inner City District Advisory Committee</u> 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Wednesday, February 5, 2020 Wednesday, April 22, 2020

<u>Central District Advisory Committee</u> 7:00 p.m.

Tuesday, November 19, 2019 Tuesday, February 4, 2020 Thursday, April 30, 2020

French Immersion Advisory Committee 7:00 p.m.

Wednesday, November 27, 2019 Thursday, February 20, 2020 Thursday, May 7, 2020

South District Advisory Committee 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 7, 2019 Tuesday, February 11, 2020 Tuesday, April 28, 2020

North District Advisory Committee 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, November 14, 2019 Tuesday, February 18, 2020 Tuesday, May 5, 2020

Student Advisory Committee 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 Wednesday, February 19, 2020 Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Respectfully Submitted,

YIJIE CHEN Trustee Representative

IN ATTENDANCE:

Voting Representatives:

Children of the Earth School David Livingstone School Dufferin School Fort Rouge School

Hugh John MacDonald School

Machray School
Mulvey School
Niji Mahkwa School
Sister MacNamara School
Strathcona School
Victoria-Albert School
Wellington School
William Whyte School

Trustees:

Jennifer Chen Arlene Reid

Regrets:

Trustee Betty Edel Argyle Alternative High School King Edward School Norquay School

Administration:

Brad Corbett, Director Rob Riel, Director Tim Cox, Director

Nichola Batzel, Principal, Children of the Earth School

Wayne Wyke, Principal, Dufferin School

Melissa Asmundson, Vice-Principal, Dufferin School

Stacie Edgar, Principal, Fort Rouge School Vinh Huvnh, Principal, Gordon Bell High School

Matthew Adkins, Principal, Hugh John Macdonald School

Anastasia Karagiannis Bell, Vice-Principal, Hugh John Macdonald

Peter Correia, Principal, Mulvey School

Wendy Verbong, Vice-Principal, Mulvey School Susan Darazsi, Principal, Strathcona School Yohanna Koncan, Vice-Principal, Wellington School

Thérèse Deleurme, Recording Secretary

Non-Voting/Resource Members

Community Support Worker, Children of the Earth School

Community Support Worker, Fort Rouge School
Community Support Worker, Machray School
Community Support Worker, Niji Mahkwa School
Community Support Worker, Sister MacNamara School
Community Support Worker, Strathsona School

Community Support Worker, Strathcona School Community Support Worker, William Whyte School